Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019
  • positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018
  • positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018
  • This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019
  • positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019
  • Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019
  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018
  • This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

Google Reviews

  • Walked out of the class and off the range with that beginner sense of confidence. Confident that I have a solid base to start off on. Clear and interesting instructions. Learned a lot and eager to get on to the ATP1 class. Thanks Ryan!

    Cathy Weav Avatar
    Cathy Weav
    10/07/2019

    Thank you Citizens Safety Academy and our instructor, Aqil for customizing a class around family's difficult schedule. Thank you your years of public service and the thorough instruction you gave to us in the Enhanced Permit Class. What an awesome experience. I feel certain we will be returning for more training with you. Blessings.

    Trayc Hostetter Avatar
    Trayc Hostetter
    3/17/2020
  • I took this class because I wanted to have the ability to protect my children in case something were to happen to us. CSA was AMAZING and I was taught with the most knowledgeable and thorough instructors. Not to mention, they were super kind and made the class fun. They've made me a lot more confident in being able to protect my family and I my husband and I definitely plan on coming back for more classes!

    Dania Praseutsinh Avatar
    Dania Praseutsinh
    5/14/2019

    Aqil is an informative, fun, high energy blast of a teacher! I could not have asked for a better teacher. He is the real deal and is such an awesome individual. He has all the special training and expertise you can get or can ever ask for. This man is who you want to for your gun carry permit class and any special training classes.

    Ted Williams - Pro TV Mounting Services Avatar
    Ted Williams - Pro TV Mounting Services
    9/14/2018
  • Have been around guns my entire life, ATP-1 taught me a lot about how to bring my aim to a whole new level. Can not wait till ATP-2. I took the TN Conceal/Carry two weeks ago and it also exceeded expectations. My only question is when will there be stickers so I can advertise on my vehicles?

    Tim Waldo Avatar
    Tim Waldo
    4/14/2019

    Aqil was our instructor. He was very informative and nonjudgmental. I would definitely recommend The basic safety course to everyone. We will be back for more learning!

    Tahirah Deen Avatar
    Tahirah Deen
    2/14/2019
  • Love the experience! Ryan was my instructor when I took the class and he was experienced and funny! He made the dreadful 8 hour class fly by with his enthusiastic jokes and made sure everyone participated! The class was very much worth the money! If you ever wanted to be more informed on firearms I HIGHLY recommend this course! I will soon be taking other classes in the future! Well done CSA!

    John Phan Avatar
    John Phan
    7/14/2019

    Just completed my NRA Basic Pistol Course with instructors Mr. Qadir and Ms. Johnson. Two excellent firearm instructors. Both are very knowledgeable, personable, exciting people who are so willing to share their knowledge and passion for the shooting sports. They will go to any length necessary to make sure you fully comprehend the material being covered. They are very good at speaking to the entire class, from the novice to the advanced shooter they carry the whole class along at a comfortable pace. Don’t let Ms. Johnson’s stature fool you, when she is running the firing line, she is... Show More

    Ken C Avatar
    Ken C
    11/14/2018
  • This course is superbly structured and the website is user friendly. The instructors deliver a good amount of important information in a manner that is not just easy to follow but pleasant to complete--they're personable and professional. I highly recommend this course. Thank you, Citizen's Safety Academy!

    Nicole Jones Avatar
    Nicole Jones
    12/30/2019

    I believe that training improves your confidence as well as your skills to handle a firearm safely. I felt the professionalism of the instructors not only increased my knowledge, but provided me with the training to be a more responsible gun owner.

    Cheryl Gamble Avatar
    Cheryl Gamble
    10/14/2018
  • Tiffany and Aqil bring unsurpassed professionalism and years' of experience teaching hundreds of students to the classroom. They possess a depth and breadth of knowledge seldom encountered in a field too often occupied by mediocrities and wannabes. The lectures are delivered in a conversational manner that encourages student participation and keeps the material interesting. Their reassuring demeanor on the range makes even the most apprehensive new shooter feel comfortable and welcome. Highly recommended.

    J Grant Avatar
    J Grant
    2/04/2020

    CSA provides a great environment to learn. Safe, friendly, and incredibly thorough and knowledgeable, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

    Gilbert Goodman Avatar
    Gilbert Goodman
    10/14/2018
  • What an experience! I flew from Delaware to Atlanta, and drove the rest of the way to Tennessee to take the NRA CCW Instructor’s course with Citizens Safety Academy. It was a lot logistically, but well worth the travel! Sitting in the class as a student on Friday, I learned so much as far as how content should be delivered. They don’t just throw material at you. Everything is broken down simply and more importantly relevant to the overall course objective. Also, which I found quite helpful, was the history behind the information that was given. Most instructors regurgitate information... Show More

    Alex Ballard Avatar
    Alex Ballard
    9/13/2019

    I highly recommend this Company and it's Instructors!!!! Excellent and Professional, Wow is all I can say, I was so nervous when I went to this class and Aqil and Jam were great with me and my daughter. After attending this class I was over excited and nervous, it felt like a bucket of water had been poured over my head, I was sweating hard at the range. lol These guys really go out of their way to help you to be comfortable and at ease on the range. I will be attending all of... Show More

    Dana Shields Avatar
    Dana Shields
    10/14/2018
  • Akil explains things in terms that are understandable. They put out fake guns to practice your grip and pulling the trigger. I feel confident in my ability to use my gun now. I never felt bored while taking the carry class.

    Nurse Lopez Avatar
    Nurse Lopez
    6/14/2019

    I just completed the NRA CCW Student and Instructor level courses with Aqil and Tiffany here in western NY. I have trained with many local and national trainers (as I am an Instructor myself) and I can say without any reservations that Aqil and Tiffany are without a doubt the finest I have yet to train with. Five stars are not enough to represent the quality of their depth of knowledge and presentation skills. If you are serious about real training and education don't miss the opportunity to train with them. I am an internationally certified martial arts instructor, retired... Show More

    A Spacone Avatar
    A Spacone
    8/31/2019
  • By far the best class I have taken in middle Tennessee. Very safe and well thought-out class!

    Alan Puglisi Avatar
    Alan Puglisi
    8/14/2019

    I really enjoyed my experience here. It was my first time shooting a gun and he had me shooting on target. Very detailed on laws and how to conduct yourself as a permit holder. I will definitely be taking more courses.

    Lakeisha Wade Avatar
    Lakeisha Wade
    10/14/2018
  • CSA firearms training is top notch. The staff is as professional as they come. During the live fire exercises, safety is always at the forefront during every moment. I highly recommend CSA to anyone starting their handgun training journey or to anyone wanting to further their advanced training.

    Ted Gamble Avatar
    Ted Gamble
    10/14/2018

    My wife and I attended their Carrying Conceal permit class. Hands down, they are the best. We walked away confident and with so much knowledge. The Instructors were extremely thorough and professional. We will most definitely be back for their other courses. If you’re looking for the highest level of training, look no further, they are the real deal!!! I 💯recommend!

    Ben Crespo Avatar
    Ben Crespo
    5/14/2019