Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Google Reviews

  • A great instructor! Very patient and knowledgeable in the classroom and at the range.

    Mil Perkins Avatar
    Mil Perkins
    9/14/2018

    While completing NRA Basic Pistol Instructor course, I was blessed to have been trained by both Aqil and Tiffany. Both were knowledgeable of the content and easy to work with. I would highly recommend them for your training needs.

    Tres Goldsby Avatar
    Tres Goldsby
    2/14/2019
  • I would just like to commend everyone who participated in the instruction and guidance through this process. The information was excellent, and the knowledge and professionalism of the instructors was outstanding. My special thanks to Ryan McCann for his guidance, skill and knowledge base. Ryan [as did they all] instilled the safety and respect that goes along with the knowledge needed to succeed and pursue further with the correct attitude.

    Dee Resha Avatar
    Dee Resha
    1/14/2019

    I took the Pistol Instructor’s Certification Course this weekend and it was AMAZING!! Aqil and Tiffany are awesome instructors! The course had lots of information and valuable skills. There was such a positive energy from the duo. They were able to share their knowledge while keeping the class engaged. I look forward to more training from them both! Highly recommend!!!

    Ranae Knapp Avatar
    Ranae Knapp
    8/31/2020
  • Aqil's training techniques are not just about physical safety. For women it is so important to feel a mental sense of empowerment, whether you carry a weapon or not. His mindset approach is great for women who just want to bolster their confidence. Becoming a great shooter is icing on the cake!

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    9/14/2018

    This was an amazing class! I came into the class having never seen a gun in my life and Aquil's class made me feel comfortable and well prepared. Go see this guy, he's one of the best teachers around! You won't regret it!

    Annie Hardman Avatar
    Annie Hardman
    9/14/2018
  • Retired military. I half expected this to be a "rubber stamp" operation, but reviews were good so I took a chance. I was impressed. Very knowledgeable instructor. Academics were well-presented. Good selection of follow-on classes for professional development. I will definitely be back!

    David Creech Avatar
    David Creech
    1/08/2020

    My wife and I just took the basic pistol and NRA basic pistol instructor course at CSA. I am prior Military and Law Enforcement, and Aqil, Tiffany and their staff, were the best instructors I have ever had hands down no contest. They were very professional, polite, extremely knowledgeable and safety was top priority. They kept everything simple and fun, and covered an enormous amount of information in the time we were there, in other words you definitely get your moneys worth. Regardless of whether you are advanced or have never touched a firearm, they... Show More

    Robert Lowe Avatar
    Robert Lowe
    11/14/2018
  • I highly recommend CSA for the professionalism, open conversation, and overall quality of the class and instructors. Ryan, Marv, and Jam were very supportive and informative! Thanks to all!!

    Todd Davis Avatar
    Todd Davis
    11/14/2018

    Ryan and Aqil are great instructors and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Citizens Safety Academy! Not only do they know their stuff, but they provide it in a easy to learn manner with a little humor thrown in now and then. Definitely looking at continuing my training under these gentlemen!

    Brian Toungette Avatar
    Brian Toungette
    8/12/2020
  • The class I attended is hands down, one of the best and most informative classes I have attended, and I have attended many over the years. I walked away with lots of tools for the toolbox. Aqil and Tiffany are very experienced Instructors, and it shows. I drove four hours to attend, and will continue attending classes when I can. Thanks guys and keep up the great Instruction. If your serious about training, look no further, they are the real deal!!!

    Patrick Robilio Avatar
    Patrick Robilio
    4/14/2019

    Traveled in from Atlanta, GA with a buddy of mine who came from Delaware and the drive was well worth the trip! Aqil Qadir and Tiffany Johnson of CSA are both WORLD CLASS INSTRUCTORS! Their commitment to safety and ability to put the class at ease is unparalleled and with almost 50 years of combined experience between them, it was obvious from the very beginning that they were both seasoned subject matter experts.I would not hesitate to send my loved ones to them for training and I will definitely be back. I highly recommend them to anyone seeking firearms... Show More

    Samuel Hayes Avatar
    Samuel Hayes
    9/10/2019
  • The Handgun permit class was amazing! Very informative and thorough with teaching the skills and techniques. As a female I feel more equipped and ready to take the next step. Aqil was very engaging, patient and made it fun. I walked away with a desire to gain the right mindset and gain and improve on the right skills. It was worth the time.

    J B Avatar
    J B
    9/14/2018

    Class was great and very informative. I learned so much!

    Angela Rene' Avatar
    Angela Rene'
    9/14/2018
  • This class is most definitely the BEST around and not to mention worth every penny. All of the instructors are VERY knowledgeable and thorough. They take their time to make SAFETY AWARENESS the #1 priority. Although we did learn to shoot a weapon this class is much MORE. Its about taking responsibility for EVERY BULLET that is fired from your weapon. Be ready to learn from the Best in the Business when you sign up with this crew!

    Melissa Thomas-Brown Avatar
    Melissa Thomas-Brown
    3/14/2019

    The best firearm instruction hands down. Thank you

    chris bailey Avatar
    chris bailey
    9/14/2018
  • Highly recommend. If you’re on the fence about taking a class with CSA, it’s definitely worth your money. Good people and they’re all very knowledgeable.

    Cody Mccanless Avatar
    Cody Mccanless
    4/14/2019

    Only company I have ever seen with all 5 star reviews and they are very deserving of it. I first took the Guns 101 course with my girlfriend and it was very informative for us because we knew nothing about guns. A few days later I take the handgun carry permit class and it was also very informative and helpful. Aqil and Marvin are very patient and helped me a lot on the range. It was scary at first but it became fun after I got used to the noise. 11/10 would recommend to anyone interested in guns/gun safety. I... Show More

    Eric Golston II Avatar
    Eric Golston II
    6/14/2019
  • I traveled 3 hours for this class, I was very nervous and anxious. I expected to pull into a very large facility. Instead it is a very quaint store front in a nice neighborhood. I was greeted at the door with a welcoming smile and directed to come in. It was a very small class of about 7 including myself. I immediately felt less nervous and anxious. Citizens Safety Academy was very accommodating and clean. The class was excellent with a vast amount of information that was given in a manner that was easy... Show More

    Michelle Tackett Avatar
    Michelle Tackett
    9/07/2020

    Just finished my handgun carry permit class with Ryan and have only wonderful things to say about the class and the instructor(s). This was my first time using anything more than a BB gun and all of the instructors there went out of their way to make all of us feel safe and comfortable firing a handgun safely. This is just the first of many classes I plan on taking with Citizens as I increase my knowledge and comfort level.

    Criss Come Avatar
    Criss Come
    8/14/2019

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019
  • Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018
  • Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018
  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018
  • positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018
  • positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019
  • Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019
  • This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018