Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019
  • Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018
  • Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017
  • One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019
  • I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019
  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017
  • positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018
  • This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

Google Reviews

  • I just experienced​ 3 days​ of instructions from Mr. Qadir and Ms. Johnson, and I couldn't say anything bad about the training even if I lied. I recommend them for anybody on any level. Great training, great and helpful instructions, these guys really know their stuff. I carry for a living and their basic pistol course was very enlightening for me. I had a GREAT weekend experience.

    Ali Muhammad Avatar
    Ali Muhammad
    9/14/2018

    Had a really great time! Very knowledgeable team and my daughter and I had a great time with all of you on Father's Day.

    randy adams Avatar
    randy adams
    7/14/2019
  • Full disclosure: I currently teach for Citizens Safety Academy. But before that, I started out as a student, and I have taken several classes with and from the lead instructor, Aqil Qadir. I would never have joined his teaching cadre if I thought CSA was anything less than awesome. Every time I attend or help teach a class with Aqil and the CSA cadre, I am amazed at the professionalism, the patience, and the unwavering commitment to safety. They are not a handgun permit "paper mill." They do more than just push out students who barely pass the qualifications. Instead,... Show More

    Tiffany Johnson Avatar
    Tiffany Johnson
    9/14/2018

    These guys are the real deal for firearms training. You won't get a more professional education with anyone else. I am humbled by the experience. Train with them and see for yourself!

    Justin McNeill Avatar
    Justin McNeill
    8/14/2019
  • Their permit course is incredibly thorough in its explanation in the laws and scenarios in which you're legally authorized to both carry and use your firearm. Additionally, they can and will answer most/any questions you have pertaining to thier usage, maintenance, and choosing which handgun would best suit your needs and ease of use. If you have a question they don't have the answer to they can point you in the right direction.They're incredibly professional, and avoid getting into the heavy political aspects that surround carrying a firearm. In short: they're incredibly thorough, patient, and knowledgeable on the subject... Show More

    Wayne Keen Avatar
    Wayne Keen
    5/14/2019

    Love the experience! Ryan was my instructor when I took the class and he was experienced and funny! He made the dreadful 8 hour class fly by with his enthusiastic jokes and made sure everyone participated! The class was very much worth the money! If you ever wanted to be more informed on firearms I HIGHLY recommend this course! I will soon be taking other classes in the future! Well done CSA!

    John Phan Avatar
    John Phan
    7/10/2019
  • Highly recommend. If you’re on the fence about taking a class with CSA, it’s definitely worth your money. Good people and they’re all very knowledgeable.

    Cody Mccanless Avatar
    Cody Mccanless
    4/14/2019

    Walked out of the class and off the range with that beginner sense of confidence. Confident that I have a solid base to start off on. Clear and interesting instructions. Learned a lot and eager to get on to the ATP1 class. Thanks Ryan!

    Cathy Weav Avatar
    Cathy Weav
    10/07/2019
  • The instructor was very knowledgeable and helped the class all the way through. The small class setting ensured that everyone learned what needed to be. Not only did he help with the knowledge skill, he helped with the technical skill as well.

    Austin Colbert Avatar
    Austin Colbert
    10/27/2019

    Blown away by their professionalism, attention to detail and their ability to adapt to any trainees skill level. The standard for excellence is set here. Even if your a combat vet like myself you will still learn something valuable to you and the defense of your family. You may enter a stranger but your leaving as family.

    Kazzerus AMP Avatar
    Kazzerus AMP
    9/15/2019
  • The class was very good! Both instructors made me feel comfortable- never once felt intimidated or had fear! As a student my voice was heard! If I felt nervous or had a question at any time- the instructors immediately stopped and changed all that! I would definitely take classes with citizens safety academy and would highly recommend it!

    Stephenie Przybyla Avatar
    Stephenie Przybyla
    8/31/2019

    I had the opportunity to experience an awesome training by Aqil Kadir last month (Refuse to Become A Victim). The training was specifically given to a large group of senior citizens. It was extremely educational, very well presented and left me and all others with invaluable tips! This was my first such training and I definitely would sign up for any future trainings given by Aqil Kadir's Citizens Safety Academy. Awesome!

    Andrea Johnson Avatar
    Andrea Johnson
    9/14/2018
  • CSA provides a great environment to learn. Safe, friendly, and incredibly thorough and knowledgeable, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

    Gilbert Goodman Avatar
    Gilbert Goodman
    10/14/2018

    The class was very good! Both instructors made me feel comfortable- never once felt intimidated or had fear! As a student my voice was heard! If I felt nervous or had a question at any time- the instructors immediately stopped and changed all that! I would definitely take classes with citizens safety academy and would highly recommend it!

    Stephenie Przybyla Avatar
    Stephenie Przybyla
    8/28/2019
  • It has taken me many years to get the courage to sign up for a handgun carry permit class. Instructor Aqil is extremely knowledgeable and respectful of the individual needs of each student. His patient, detailed training allowed me to be successful at the target range. I highly recommend this class for anyone who may have anxiety about learning to shoot a handgun. CSA offers several other courses which I also hope to complete in the future.

    Pamela Sandlin Avatar
    Pamela Sandlin
    9/14/2018

    Great class

    LaToya Luster Avatar
    LaToya Luster
    9/14/2018
  • I believe that training improves your confidence as well as your skills to handle a firearm safely. I felt the professionalism of the instructors not only increased my knowledge, but provided me with the training to be a more responsible gun owner.

    Cheryl Gamble Avatar
    Cheryl Gamble
    10/14/2018

    Excellent instructors. Highly recommended! Their instructions are very clear and if you have complications, the instructors and assistants are there to help you through them. I was very impressed with their professionalism. Thanks for a great experience!

    ysnyder70 . Avatar
    ysnyder70 .
    3/14/2019
  • Great instructors... Very detailed and up to date on Laws, Regulations, & Requirements...

    Panther LT Avatar
    Panther LT
    5/14/2019

    I've taken an obscene amount of classes and courses, these guys are, hands down, the most efficient and humble team I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I'll be taking more classes with them in the future.

    Ryan McCann Avatar
    Ryan McCann
    9/14/2018