Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019
  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017
  • Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019
  • positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019
  • Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018
  • positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019
  • positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018
  • positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

Google Reviews

  • I highly recommend this Company and it's Instructors!!!! Excellent and Professional, Wow is all I can say, I was so nervous when I went to this class and Aqil and Jam were great with me and my daughter. After attending this class I was over excited and nervous, it felt like a bucket of water had been poured over my head, I was sweating hard at the range. lol These guys really go out of their way to help you to be comfortable and at ease on the range. I will be attending all of... Show More

    Dana Shields Avatar
    Dana Shields
    10/14/2018

    Aqil and Tiffany are excellent instructors who convey their material well, and in a friendly and supportive manner. Whether you've never touched a firearm before or you're an experienced shooter, you will learn much from training with them. Highly recommended.

    David H. Roberson Avatar
    David H. Roberson
    11/14/2018
  • I began shooting about a year ago and did some research and found Aquil. I've taken several of his classes so far, and his teaching technique is one that I appreciate as a female and I always feel comfortable and supported in broadening my education in the 2A lifestyle. CSA offers different classes and I plan on attending as many as possible. He makes learning fun, easy and most importantly safe! In short I highly recommend attending CSA.

    Jeanette Smith Avatar
    Jeanette Smith
    9/14/2018

    A great instructor! Very patient and knowledgeable in the classroom and at the range.

    Mil Perkins Avatar
    Mil Perkins
    9/14/2018
  • One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/19/2019

    Great class

    LaToya Luster Avatar
    LaToya Luster
    9/14/2018
  • The class was very good! Both instructors made me feel comfortable- never once felt intimidated or had fear! As a student my voice was heard! If I felt nervous or had a question at any time- the instructors immediately stopped and changed all that! I would definitely take classes with citizens safety academy and would highly recommend it!

    Stephenie Przybyla Avatar
    Stephenie Przybyla
    8/28/2019

    Aquil did a great job providing a refresher on safety. I appreciated the personal attention and he was responsive to my specific concerns as a mom.

    Shavon Johnson Avatar
    Shavon Johnson
    9/14/2018
  • First off the Instructor is fantastic. I Knew 0 about guns before coming. He taught me how to load a magazine which is very basic all the way to pulling the trigger. If you know nothing still attend they will show you everything you need to know with 0 judgment on even the basic questions. For people who know how to operate he gave them the same amount of attention. Classes are small so you will get hands on experience beyond what I've seen at other places.

    PRESTON WELTER Avatar
    PRESTON WELTER
    10/20/2019

    This was an amazing class! I came into the class having never seen a gun in my life and Aquil's class made me feel comfortable and well prepared. Go see this guy, he's one of the best teachers around! You won't regret it!

    Annie Hardman Avatar
    Annie Hardman
    9/14/2018
  • Today was my very first time shooting any type of weapon, but with the help from Aqil and Marv I was able to accomplish this goal. Thank you guys class was awesome and I hope too see you both soon. Thank you

    Danielle Scales Avatar
    Danielle Scales
    9/14/2018

    Very knowledgeable staff! Aqil knows his stuff and can teach it to anyone. I will recommend taking his courses to all family members. You cannot go wrong under his instructions!

    James Brice Avatar
    James Brice
    9/14/2018
  • If you are a young woman like me you probably have considered carrying a gun for safety. If you have ever considered it and you are looking for a great instructor and comfortable class then do yourself a favor and come here! Aqil was a patient teacher, and an excellent advisor for everyone in the group. I felt safe with him in command at the range and feel like the whole class really trusted him. As a woman it can be hard to navigate things like this especially if you are going alone. Aqil was extra respectful to the women... Show More

    LaBellaLeone Avatar
    LaBellaLeone
    9/14/2018

    Just finished my handgun carry permit class with Ryan and have only wonderful things to say about the class and the instructor(s). This was my first time using anything more than a BB gun and all of the instructors there went out of their way to make all of us feel safe and comfortable firing a handgun safely. This is just the first of many classes I plan on taking with Citizens as I increase my knowledge and comfort level.

    Criss Come Avatar
    Criss Come
    8/14/2019
  • Their permit course is incredibly thorough in its explanation in the laws and scenarios in which you're legally authorized to both carry and use your firearm. Additionally, they can and will answer most/any questions you have pertaining to thier usage, maintenance, and choosing which handgun would best suit your needs and ease of use. If you have a question they don't have the answer to they can point you in the right direction.They're incredibly professional, and avoid getting into the heavy political aspects that surround carrying a firearm. In short: they're incredibly thorough, patient, and knowledgeable on the subject... Show More

    Wayne Keen Avatar
    Wayne Keen
    5/14/2019

    Awesome and friendly instructors. Respectful,courteous, and funny. Very knowledgeable and their passion for their craft is very contagious. Aqil and Tiffany are very good instructors and take the time to meet everyone where they are whether they never touched a gun or are have experienced shooting for a while.Highly suggest that if you’re interested in taking a gun class at any level, to look up Aqil and Tiffany at Citizens Safety Academy. You wont regret it.

    Wayman Manson Avatar
    Wayman Manson
    11/14/2018
  • By far the best class I have taken in middle Tennessee. Very safe and well thought-out class!

    Alan Puglisi Avatar
    Alan Puglisi
    8/14/2019

    While completing NRA Basic Pistol Instructor course, I was blessed to have been trained by both Aqil and Tiffany. Both were knowledgeable of the content and easy to work with. I would highly recommend them for your training needs.

    Tres Goldsby Avatar
    Tres Goldsby
    2/14/2019
  • The instructor was very knowledgeable and helped the class all the way through. The small class setting ensured that everyone learned what needed to be. Not only did he help with the knowledge skill, he helped with the technical skill as well.

    Austin Colbert Avatar
    Austin Colbert
    10/27/2019

    I believe that training improves your confidence as well as your skills to handle a firearm safely. I felt the professionalism of the instructors not only increased my knowledge, but provided me with the training to be a more responsible gun owner.

    Cheryl Gamble Avatar
    Cheryl Gamble
    10/14/2018