Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019
  • One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018
  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017
  • positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018
  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018
  • Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019
  • Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018
  • positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019

Google Reviews

  • No one who considers taking a firearms course looks forward to days and hours of blocks of instruction in a classroom and I was no exception. What I can say is I couldn't have been more surprised and engaged as I was the entire time. The instructors are incredibly knowledgeable, professional and talented at what they do. I can't encourage someone enough who's considering taking a firearms course to choose Citizens Safety Academy. you will not be disappointed ! I drove 3hrs from knoxville to attend their course and if given an option to attend one closer to home knowing... Show More

    phillip lopez Avatar
    phillip lopez
    7/29/2020

    Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/17/2019
  • Akil explains things in terms that are understandable. They put out fake guns to practice your grip and pulling the trigger. I feel confident in my ability to use my gun now. I never felt bored while taking the carry class.

    Nurse Lopez Avatar
    Nurse Lopez
    6/14/2019

    CSA firearms training is top notch. The staff is as professional as they come. During the live fire exercises, safety is always at the forefront during every moment. I highly recommend CSA to anyone starting their handgun training journey or to anyone wanting to further their advanced training.

    Ted Gamble Avatar
    Ted Gamble
    10/14/2018
  • Aquil is a Great instructor! I will recommend Citizens Safety Academy to anyone seeking to learn about firearm safety the right way! My husband and I had a great time and awesome experience!

    Lasheryl Jones Hall Avatar
    Lasheryl Jones Hall
    7/22/2020

    The class was great like that we more than one teachers so any questions had some cloud answers it right there

    Clifford Freeman Avatar
    Clifford Freeman
    4/14/2019
  • The best firearm instruction hands down. Thank you

    chris bailey Avatar
    chris bailey
    9/14/2018

    I believe that training improves your confidence as well as your skills to handle a firearm safely. I felt the professionalism of the instructors not only increased my knowledge, but provided me with the training to be a more responsible gun owner.

    Cheryl Gamble Avatar
    Cheryl Gamble
    10/14/2018
  • Ryan and Aqil are great instructors and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Citizens Safety Academy! Not only do they know their stuff, but they provide it in a easy to learn manner with a little humor thrown in now and then. Definitely looking at continuing my training under these gentlemen!

    Brian Toungette Avatar
    Brian Toungette
    8/12/2020

    CSA provides a great environment to learn. Safe, friendly, and incredibly thorough and knowledgeable, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

    Gilbert Goodman Avatar
    Gilbert Goodman
    10/14/2018
  • Great class

    LaToya Luster Avatar
    LaToya Luster
    9/14/2018

    My husband and I drove over an hour to take the Concealed Carry class with Ryan and David!! These guys are AWESOME! They made the class time fun and we learned more than we could have imagined. They were very knowledgeable, thorough, and had a great sense of humor. We highly recommend Citizens Safety Academy!!!!

    Amanda Rucker Avatar
    Amanda Rucker
    11/20/2019
  • Today was such an awesome day. Aqil was able to take my two daughters and my wife who had never shot a gun before and give them the skills and confidence i never thought they would have after just one class. He really really helped me and our entire class to gain so much knowledge. It was an 8 hour class that seemed like 2hours becAuse of the total engagement of everyone. I really needed this and will be back for other class offerings. I highly highly recommend Aqil and Citizens Safety Academy.

    Dejuan Buford Avatar
    Dejuan Buford
    8/23/2020

    The TN enhanced handgun permit class was very informative, easy to comprehend, and overall a delightful experience. From the time you enter the building of CSA to the time you get ready to leave the atmosphere is safe and welcoming.

    The instructor was beyond knowledgeable and committed to safety and the course materials. From the class demonstrations to the reassurance on the range, Aqil Q. made sure you knew what you were doing.

    I highly recommend CSA for anyone, from beginners to experts. They encourage their students to keep learning and they offer so much to aid in your journey....
    Show More

    Emoni Lewis Avatar
    Emoni Lewis
    6/18/2020
  • Full disclosure: I currently teach for Citizens Safety Academy. But before that, I started out as a student, and I have taken several classes with and from the lead instructor, Aqil Qadir. I would never have joined his teaching cadre if I thought CSA was anything less than awesome. Every time I attend or help teach a class with Aqil and the CSA cadre, I am amazed at the professionalism, the patience, and the unwavering commitment to safety. They are not a handgun permit "paper mill." They do more than just push out students who barely pass the qualifications. Instead,... Show More

    Tiffany Johnson Avatar
    Tiffany Johnson
    9/14/2018

    Great instructors... Very detailed and up to date on Laws, Regulations, & Requirements...

    Panther LT Avatar
    Panther LT
    5/14/2019
  • Have been around guns my entire life, ATP-1 taught me a lot about how to bring my aim to a whole new level. Can not wait till ATP-2. I took the TN Conceal/Carry two weeks ago and it also exceeded expectations. My only question is when will there be stickers so I can advertise on my vehicles?

    Tim Waldo Avatar
    Tim Waldo
    4/14/2019

    If you are a young woman like me you probably have considered carrying a gun for safety. If you have ever considered it and you are looking for a great instructor and comfortable class then do yourself a favor and come here! Aqil was a patient teacher, and an excellent advisor for everyone in the group. I felt safe with him in command at the range and feel like the whole class really trusted him. As a woman it can be hard to navigate things like this especially if you are going alone. Aqil was extra respectful to the women... Show More

    LaBellaLeone Avatar
    LaBellaLeone
    9/14/2018
  • Had a great time, learned alot, teacher to student ratio was great, definitely happy I went to these guys.

    The Outlaw Eastwood Avatar
    The Outlaw Eastwood
    11/14/2018

    Although I have met Tiffany Johnson and Aqil Qadir in the firearms community, this is the first class I have taken with them. What makes them so exceptional as instructors is not just the wealth of knowledge they wish to share but the manner that they share it with you. Organized, enthusiastic, engaging, and the strive for excellence are adjectives for their class. So if you have found Citizens Safety Academy through the NRA class search, I would encourage you to drive that extra 100 miles and attend their classes. You will leave with so much more that... Show More

    Cindy Scott Avatar
    Cindy Scott
    10/15/2019