Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019
  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018
  • This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017
  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018
  • positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019
  • I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018
  • Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018
  • positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

Google Reviews

  • I just experienced​ 3 days​ of instructions from Mr. Qadir and Ms. Johnson, and I couldn't say anything bad about the training even if I lied. I recommend them for anybody on any level. Great training, great and helpful instructions, these guys really know their stuff. I carry for a living and their basic pistol course was very enlightening for me. I had a GREAT weekend experience.

    Ali Muhammad Avatar
    Ali Muhammad
    9/14/2018

    Blown away by their professionalism, attention to detail and their ability to adapt to any trainees skill level. The standard for excellence is set here. Even if your a combat vet like myself you will still learn something valuable to you and the defense of your family. You may enter a stranger but your leaving as family.

    Kazzerus AMP Avatar
    Kazzerus AMP
    9/15/2019
  • I began shooting about a year ago and did some research and found Aquil. I've taken several of his classes so far, and his teaching technique is one that I appreciate as a female and I always feel comfortable and supported in broadening my education in the 2A lifestyle. CSA offers different classes and I plan on attending as many as possible. He makes learning fun, easy and most importantly safe! In short I highly recommend attending CSA.

    Jeanette Smith Avatar
    Jeanette Smith
    9/14/2018

    Fantastic place to go for firearms classes and training. Knowledgeable instructors, extremely inviting atmosphere, and genuinely enjoyable experience. For most places the thought of an 8 hour course is at best daunting, at worst a chore. Here however, it is fun, inclusive, informative, and you never feel like you are being lectured or bored in the class. The whole staff was readily available to answer any and all questions, and adapted well to all the varying skill levels of participants. As a lifelong shooter myself, it was refreshing to see instructors that respected my knowledge and taught new skills, all... Show More

    Enyo Sarac Avatar
    Enyo Sarac
    7/14/2019
  • Had a really great time! Very knowledgeable team and my daughter and I had a great time with all of you on Father's Day.

    randy adams Avatar
    randy adams
    7/14/2019

    You can’t get this level of information from yet another YouTube video people 🙅 ‍♂️ CSA prepared me to be a responsible CCP and above all knowledgeable of situations and decision making! I will DEFINITELY be taking more classes to fully expand of the base I was given here💯💪 💈

    Nathaniel Delafosse Avatar
    Nathaniel Delafosse
    5/14/2019
  • I attended the NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting and the NRA Basic Pistol Instructor classes at this school. The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The courses were well managed and organized. Not once was a firearms safety rule broken, and I was asked to do nothing unsafe. I've been to schools in the past that have asked me to perform questionable things and drills, there was none of that here. On the range the students are well managed and watched over. Overall a very good school, I will be going back for more classes.

    That Peeper Avatar
    That Peeper
    9/14/2018

    Today was my very first time shooting any type of weapon, but with the help from Aqil and Marv I was able to accomplish this goal. Thank you guys class was awesome and I hope too see you both soon. Thank you

    Danielle Scales Avatar
    Danielle Scales
    9/14/2018
  • My wife and I attended the NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting Course taught by Aqil and Tiffany last week, and came away with a much better knowledge of weapon safety and useful shooting techniques. These folks definitely know what they're talking about! However, in spite of their vast knowledge and skill, they never made us feel like our questions were insignificant. I highly recommend these instructors.

    Logan Cox Avatar
    Logan Cox
    9/14/2018

    My wife and I took a class here and loved every minute of it! Ryan was an incredible teacher in class; Aqil, Tiffany, and Jam were incredible instructors on the range. They never made anybody feel stupid and were great working with beginners. Will definitely be back to continue our training. Thanks Citizens Safety!

    Colton Pehrson Avatar
    Colton Pehrson
    7/14/2019
  • The best firearm instruction hands down. Thank you

    chris bailey Avatar
    chris bailey
    9/14/2018

    My wife and I attended their Carrying Conceal permit class. Hands down, they are the best. We walked away confident and with so much knowledge. The Instructors were extremely thorough and professional. We will most definitely be back for their other courses. If you’re looking for the highest level of training, look no further, they are the real deal!!! I 💯recommend!

    Ben Crespo Avatar
    Ben Crespo
    5/14/2019
  • I highly recommend this Company and it's Instructors!!!! Excellent and Professional, Wow is all I can say, I was so nervous when I went to this class and Aqil and Jam were great with me and my daughter. After attending this class I was over excited and nervous, it felt like a bucket of water had been poured over my head, I was sweating hard at the range. lol These guys really go out of their way to help you to be comfortable and at ease on the range. I will be attending all of... Show More

    Dana Shields Avatar
    Dana Shields
    10/14/2018

    Top notch instruction and real life lessons. Aqil's practical common sense approach to everyday situations is invaluable information that you can't put a price tag on.

    A Alkebulan Avatar
    A Alkebulan
    9/14/2018
  • I had the opportunity to experience an awesome training by Aqil Kadir last month (Refuse to Become A Victim). The training was specifically given to a large group of senior citizens. It was extremely educational, very well presented and left me and all others with invaluable tips! This was my first such training and I definitely would sign up for any future trainings given by Aqil Kadir's Citizens Safety Academy. Awesome!

    Andrea Johnson Avatar
    Andrea Johnson
    9/14/2018

    I just completed the NRA CCW Student and Instructor level courses with Aqil and Tiffany here in western NY. I have trained with many local and national trainers (as I am an Instructor myself) and I can say without any reservations that Aqil and Tiffany are without a doubt the finest I have yet to train with. Five stars are not enough to represent the quality of their depth of knowledge and presentation skills. If you are serious about real training and education don't miss the opportunity to train with them. I am an internationally certified martial arts instructor, retired... Show More

    A Spacone Avatar
    A Spacone
    8/31/2019
  • These guys are very professional and helpful. I couldn’t have chosen a better place.

    Donna B Avatar
    Donna B
    9/14/2018

    Have you thought about signing up for your hand gun carrying permit class? But you never seem to follow through? Hey that was me. I had this idea on my bucket list for years. Until I met Dayna at my school. She told our cohort all about Citizens Safety Academy. Citizen Safety Academy offers handgun carry permit classes on Sunday. I really liked that idea. Sign up was easy. I registered for the class in just a few minutes. I attended my class on last Sunday. My instructors name was Ryan and his two assistants were... Show More

    Estrella Miller Avatar
    Estrella Miller
    8/14/2019
  • I can’t say enough about the training I received at CSA. Aqil and Marv kept the information interesting and provided the class with the practical skills needed to feel comfortable with firearms. Safety training is required to get a concealed weapons permit in Tenn, but I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has a firearm in their home or is on the fence about getting a firearm to protect themselves and their family. Gun safety is a subject that deserves continued education and refreshers, I look forward to taking more courses and meeting the rest of the CSA... Show More

    Kent Lindsey Avatar
    Kent Lindsey
    9/14/2018

    I would just like to commend everyone who participated in the instruction and guidance through this process. The information was excellent, and the knowledge and professionalism of the instructors was outstanding. My special thanks to Ryan McCann for his guidance, skill and knowledge base. Ryan [as did they all] instilled the safety and respect that goes along with the knowledge needed to succeed and pursue further with the correct attitude.

    Dee Resha Avatar
    Dee Resha
    1/14/2019