Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017
  • I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019
  • Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019
  • positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018
  • Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017
  • positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017
  • positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018
  • positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

Google Reviews

  • A great instructor! Very patient and knowledgeable in the classroom and at the range.

    Mil Perkins Avatar
    Mil Perkins
    9/14/2018

    I throughly enjoyed my experience here. The instructors name was Ryan and his tonality when it comes to the gravity of things was perfect and he had the ability to be jovial throughout and make things fun too. I sincerely recommend going here I gleaned knowledge as well That I wasn’t anticipating. All in all great experience thank y’all.

    chase VanBurkleo Avatar
    chase VanBurkleo
    12/24/2019
  • I was not looking forward to taking an 8 hour class on a Saturday. However, I was pleasantly surprised by Mr. Qadir's presentation and teaching methods. He made the class very interesting. Citizen's Academy went beyond the basics to teach safety and I really appreciated how patient Mr. Qadir and Mr. Smartt was with a person like myself who hasn't touched a firearm in over a decade.

    Ronald Crozier Avatar
    Ronald Crozier
    9/14/2018

    This is a great class, very organized and the instructors were great. I really got a lot out of it. Look forward to taking other classes here.

    Jerry Lewis Avatar
    Jerry Lewis
    8/14/2019
  • The class was great like that we more than one teachers so any questions had some cloud answers it right there

    Clifford Freeman Avatar
    Clifford Freeman
    4/14/2019

    The instructor was very knowledgeable and helped the class all the way through. The small class setting ensured that everyone learned what needed to be. Not only did he help with the knowledge skill, he helped with the technical skill as well.

    Austin Colbert Avatar
    Austin Colbert
    10/27/2019
  • Walked out of the class and off the range with that beginner sense of confidence. Confident that I have a solid base to start off on. Clear and interesting instructions. Learned a lot and eager to get on to the ATP1 class. Thanks Ryan!

    Cathy Weav Avatar
    Cathy Weav
    10/07/2019

    I took this class because I wanted to have the ability to protect my children in case something were to happen to us. CSA was AMAZING and I was taught with the most knowledgeable and thorough instructors. Not to mention, they were super kind and made the class fun. They've made me a lot more confident in being able to protect my family and I my husband and I definitely plan on coming back for more classes!

    Dania Praseutsinh Avatar
    Dania Praseutsinh
    5/14/2019
  • I began shooting about a year ago and did some research and found Aquil. I've taken several of his classes so far, and his teaching technique is one that I appreciate as a female and I always feel comfortable and supported in broadening my education in the 2A lifestyle. CSA offers different classes and I plan on attending as many as possible. He makes learning fun, easy and most importantly safe! In short I highly recommend attending CSA.

    Jeanette Smith Avatar
    Jeanette Smith
    9/14/2018

    Just finished my handgun carry permit class with Ryan and have only wonderful things to say about the class and the instructor(s). This was my first time using anything more than a BB gun and all of the instructors there went out of their way to make all of us feel safe and comfortable firing a handgun safely. This is just the first of many classes I plan on taking with Citizens as I increase my knowledge and comfort level.

    Criss Come Avatar
    Criss Come
    8/14/2019
  • I've taken an obscene amount of classes and courses, these guys are, hands down, the most efficient and humble team I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I'll be taking more classes with them in the future.

    Ryan McCann Avatar
    Ryan McCann
    9/14/2018

    While completing NRA Basic Pistol Instructor course, I was blessed to have been trained by both Aqil and Tiffany. Both were knowledgeable of the content and easy to work with. I would highly recommend them for your training needs.

    Tres Goldsby Avatar
    Tres Goldsby
    2/14/2019
  • My husband and I drove over an hour to take the Concealed Carry class with Ryan and David!! These guys are AWESOME! They made the class time fun and we learned more than we could have imagined. They were very knowledgeable, thorough, and had a great sense of humor. We highly recommend Citizens Safety Academy!!!!

    Amanda Rucker Avatar
    Amanda Rucker
    11/20/2019

    My buddy and I just took the Handgun Carry Permit Course with Tiffany & Aqil - couldn’t have gone any better. Aqil & Tiffany (Esquire) were great instructors. Aqil was extremely knowledgable and was the lead, while Tiffany was able to add legal advice through out the day. Great people, small class size, would recommend to anyone, regardless of skill level.

    Austin Crowe Avatar
    Austin Crowe
    9/14/2018
  • Aqil is an informative, fun, high energy blast of a teacher! I could not have asked for a better teacher. He is the real deal and is such an awesome individual. He has all the special training and expertise you can get or can ever ask for. This man is who you want to for your gun carry permit class and any special training classes.

    Ted Williams - Pro TV Mounting Services Avatar
    Ted Williams - Pro TV Mounting Services
    9/14/2018

    My wife and I took a class here and loved every minute of it! Ryan was an incredible teacher in class; Aqil, Tiffany, and Jam were incredible instructors on the range. They never made anybody feel stupid and were great working with beginners. Will definitely be back to continue our training. Thanks Citizens Safety!

    Colton Pehrson Avatar
    Colton Pehrson
    7/14/2019
  • Had a really great time! Very knowledgeable team and my daughter and I had a great time with all of you on Father's Day.

    randy adams Avatar
    randy adams
    7/14/2019

    One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/19/2019
  • The class was very good! Both instructors made me feel comfortable- never once felt intimidated or had fear! As a student my voice was heard! If I felt nervous or had a question at any time- the instructors immediately stopped and changed all that! I would definitely take classes with citizens safety academy and would highly recommend it!

    Stephenie Przybyla Avatar
    Stephenie Przybyla
    8/31/2019

    The best firearm instruction hands down. Thank you

    chris bailey Avatar
    chris bailey
    9/14/2018