Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018
  • This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019
  • If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018
  • positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019
  • One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019
  • positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018
  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018
  • positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

Google Reviews

  • If you are a young woman like me you probably have considered carrying a gun for safety. If you have ever considered it and you are looking for a great instructor and comfortable class then do yourself a favor and come here! Aqil was a patient teacher, and an excellent advisor for everyone in the group. I felt safe with him in command at the range and feel like the whole class really trusted him. As a woman it can be hard to navigate things like this especially if you are going alone. Aqil was extra respectful to the women... Show More

    LaBellaLeone Avatar
    LaBellaLeone
    9/14/2018

    Great class!! I’m a beginner with guns and I def feel a lot more comfortable with guns. Great instructors and great atmosphere!!

    Essence Avatar
    Essence
    7/14/2019
  • Just want to give a shout out to Aqil....every time I train or practice it is his teachings and snippets of advice that I’m repeating in my head the whole time and I’m truly appreciative!Thank you, sir!

    crissy rogers Avatar
    crissy rogers
    5/14/2019

    My wife and I attended their Carrying Conceal permit class. Hands down, they are the best. We walked away confident and with so much knowledge. The Instructors were extremely thorough and professional. We will most definitely be back for their other courses. If you’re looking for the highest level of training, look no further, they are the real deal!!! I 💯recommend!

    Ben Crespo Avatar
    Ben Crespo
    5/14/2019
  • I’ve never handled a gun before and after taking the course I think the results can be clearly seen! Aqil was a great instructor and after taking the class I can say that you will definitely learn something, you’ll get your money’s worth and it will not be a waste of your time.

    Harvest In The Rain Digital Avatar
    Harvest In The Rain Digital
    6/15/2020

    I just experienced​ 3 days​ of instructions from Mr. Qadir and Ms. Johnson, and I couldn't say anything bad about the training even if I lied. I recommend them for anybody on any level. Great training, great and helpful instructions, these guys really know their stuff. I carry for a living and their basic pistol course was very enlightening for me. I had a GREAT weekend experience.

    Ali Muhammad Avatar
    Ali Muhammad
    9/14/2018
  • One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/19/2019

    Class was great and very informative. I learned so much!

    Angela Rene' Avatar
    Angela Rene'
    9/14/2018
  • Top notch instruction and real life lessons. Aqil's practical common sense approach to everyday situations is invaluable information that you can't put a price tag on.

    A Alkebulan Avatar
    A Alkebulan
    9/14/2018

    Aqil and Tiffany are excellent instructors who convey their material well, and in a friendly and supportive manner. Whether you've never touched a firearm before or you're an experienced shooter, you will learn much from training with them. Highly recommended.

    David H. Roberson Avatar
    David H. Roberson
    11/14/2018
  • Aqil was great! He helped me to feel very comfortable handling the firearm, and gave very clear and knowledgeable answers to all of my questions. I totally recommend taking a class with him and his instructors. Thanks a lot!!

    Collin Johnson Avatar
    Collin Johnson
    9/14/2018

    I highly recommend this Company and it's Instructors!!!! Excellent and Professional, Wow is all I can say, I was so nervous when I went to this class and Aqil and Jam were great with me and my daughter. After attending this class I was over excited and nervous, it felt like a bucket of water had been poured over my head, I was sweating hard at the range. lol These guys really go out of their way to help you to be comfortable and at ease on the range. I will be attending all of... Show More

    Dana Shields Avatar
    Dana Shields
    10/14/2018
  • CSA firearms training is top notch. The staff is as professional as they come. During the live fire exercises, safety is always at the forefront during every moment. I highly recommend CSA to anyone starting their handgun training journey or to anyone wanting to further their advanced training.

    Ted Gamble Avatar
    Ted Gamble
    10/14/2018

    I believe that training improves your confidence as well as your skills to handle a firearm safely. I felt the professionalism of the instructors not only increased my knowledge, but provided me with the training to be a more responsible gun owner.

    Cheryl Gamble Avatar
    Cheryl Gamble
    10/14/2018
  • The best firearm instruction hands down. Thank you

    chris bailey Avatar
    chris bailey
    9/14/2018

    Aqil is an informative, fun, high energy blast of a teacher! I could not have asked for a better teacher. He is the real deal and is such an awesome individual. He has all the special training and expertise you can get or can ever ask for. This man is who you want to for your gun carry permit class and any special training classes.

    Ted Williams - Pro TV Mounting Services Avatar
    Ted Williams - Pro TV Mounting Services
    9/14/2018
  • The CSA training team is amazing!! They are truly invested in their students' success! Their reputation brought me 500 miles to train with them, and I will definitely be back!!!

    Denise Hunt Avatar
    Denise Hunt
    4/14/2019

    Aqil was very patient and informative. My wife was a little weary of semi automatic handguns and he took time during class and on the range to help her overcome her doubts of using them. He helped her be more confident and comfortable handling a firearm so she would be able to defend herself if she needed to. Thanks Aqil. I would definately recommend Aqil to anyone looking to get their carry permit or just improve their shooting skills.

    Mark Dillon Avatar
    Mark Dillon
    9/14/2018
  • I really enjoyed my experience here. It was my first time shooting a gun and he had me shooting on target. Very detailed on laws and how to conduct yourself as a permit holder. I will definitely be taking more courses.

    Lakeisha Wade Avatar
    Lakeisha Wade
    10/14/2018

    If I could give more stars I would. We took our TN handgun safety class. The instructors are very knowledgeable and competent at what they do. I have a military background and have already met my requirements, so I actually did not even need to take the class. I took the class anyway with my wife and enjoyed every minute. Went over laws, safety, parts, and fundamental weapons handling and learned alot. I definitely recommend this place and well be looking forward to booking more classes through them

    Bruce Praseutsinh Avatar
    Bruce Praseutsinh
    5/14/2019