Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018
  • I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018
  • positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019
  • One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018
  • Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019
  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019
  • positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019
  • positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

Google Reviews

  • Aqil was an awesome instructor, very knowledgeable and professional.

    Karen Astarita Avatar
    Karen Astarita
    10/14/2018

    Aquil did a great job providing a refresher on safety. I appreciated the personal attention and he was responsive to my specific concerns as a mom.

    Shavon Johnson Avatar
    Shavon Johnson
    9/14/2018
  • I began shooting about a year ago and did some research and found Aquil. I've taken several of his classes so far, and his teaching technique is one that I appreciate as a female and I always feel comfortable and supported in broadening my education in the 2A lifestyle. CSA offers different classes and I plan on attending as many as possible. He makes learning fun, easy and most importantly safe! In short I highly recommend attending CSA.

    Jeanette Smith Avatar
    Jeanette Smith
    9/14/2018

    Highly recommend! I went for the hand gun carrying permit class and was blown away by the instructors thoroughness, experience, advice, and much more! Will definitely be going back for other classses offered to continue this journey! Aqil Qadir your the man sir!

    Jason Brewer Avatar
    Jason Brewer
    9/14/2018
  • Today was my very first time shooting any type of weapon, but with the help from Aqil and Marv I was able to accomplish this goal. Thank you guys class was awesome and I hope too see you both soon. Thank you

    Danielle Scales Avatar
    Danielle Scales
    9/14/2018

    Aqil and his team were great! He's a very effective and informative instructor. I enjoyed the handgun safety permit course even though I had handled guns before, I could tell those who hadn't were not anxious and everyone was very receptive to his instruction. I plan on attending additional training courses.

    Edwards Charnell Avatar
    Edwards Charnell
    7/18/2020
  • Traveled in from Atlanta, GA with a buddy of mine who came from Delaware and the drive was well worth the trip! Aqil Qadir and Tiffany Johnson of CSA are both WORLD CLASS INSTRUCTORS! Their commitment to safety and ability to put the class at ease is unparalleled and with almost 50 years of combined experience between them, it was obvious from the very beginning that they were both seasoned subject matter experts.I would not hesitate to send my loved ones to them for training and I will definitely be back. I highly recommend them to anyone seeking firearms... Show More

    Samuel Hayes Avatar
    Samuel Hayes
    9/10/2019

    My wife and I attended the NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting Course taught by Aqil and Tiffany last week, and came away with a much better knowledge of weapon safety and useful shooting techniques. These folks definitely know what they're talking about! However, in spite of their vast knowledge and skill, they never made us feel like our questions were insignificant. I highly recommend these instructors.

    Logan Cox Avatar
    Logan Cox
    9/14/2018
  • I took this class because I wanted to have the ability to protect my children in case something were to happen to us. CSA was AMAZING and I was taught with the most knowledgeable and thorough instructors. Not to mention, they were super kind and made the class fun. They've made me a lot more confident in being able to protect my family and I my husband and I definitely plan on coming back for more classes!

    Dania Praseutsinh Avatar
    Dania Praseutsinh
    5/14/2019

    Our instructor was Aqil. He was very professional and informative. This course provides a fundamental baseline for those wishing to protect themselves and family. We defiantly recommend this company and plan on taking more courses in the future to enhance our skills.

    Cuckoo Avatar
    Cuckoo
    6/28/2020
  • CSA provides a great environment to learn. Safe, friendly, and incredibly thorough and knowledgeable, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

    Gilbert Goodman Avatar
    Gilbert Goodman
    10/14/2018

    While completing NRA Basic Pistol Instructor course, I was blessed to have been trained by both Aqil and Tiffany. Both were knowledgeable of the content and easy to work with. I would highly recommend them for your training needs.

    Tres Goldsby Avatar
    Tres Goldsby
    2/14/2019
  • Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/17/2019

    One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/19/2019
  • Aquil is great at what he does. This was a great experience and the information was presented in a fashion that made completing the process comfortable.

    Stephen Clancy Avatar
    Stephen Clancy
    8/16/2020

    I am an Air Force vet, turned paralegal and I must say Aquil and Tiffany are very knowledgeable, personable and serious about training you right. Best training I’ve had since being in the service. They serve the information with no fluff, no meaningless bravado and still manage to make the whole experience fun. If you want to feel good and have confidence in handling a weapon, choose Citizens Safety Academy.

    J B II Avatar
    J B II
    9/14/2018
  • Recently took the Enhanced Gun Permit class and it’s was so much fun. The staff really makes the class interesting and are culturally competent, which makes the class relatable for anyone. After taking the course and learning how to shoot at the gun range, I am so much more comfortable and confident about gun laws, gun safety, and how to properly work a gun.

    Jamesha Whitsey Avatar
    Jamesha Whitsey
    6/09/2020

    My wife and I attended their Carrying Conceal permit class. Hands down, they are the best. We walked away confident and with so much knowledge. The Instructors were extremely thorough and professional. We will most definitely be back for their other courses. If you’re looking for the highest level of training, look no further, they are the real deal!!! I 💯recommend!

    Ben Crespo Avatar
    Ben Crespo
    5/14/2019
  • I traveled 3 hours for this class, I was very nervous and anxious. I expected to pull into a very large facility. Instead it is a very quaint store front in a nice neighborhood. I was greeted at the door with a welcoming smile and directed to come in. It was a very small class of about 7 including myself. I immediately felt less nervous and anxious. Citizens Safety Academy was very accommodating and clean. The class was excellent with a vast amount of information that was given in a manner that was easy... Show More

    Michelle Tackett Avatar
    Michelle Tackett
    9/07/2020

    I took the Enhanced TN Handgun Safety class with Aqil and it was a great experience!!! The class is very informative and makes even 1st time gun users piece of mind when handling a gun. I would definitely recommend Citizens Safety Academy.

    Tamara Thompson Avatar
    Tamara Thompson
    8/03/2020