Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018
  • positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017
  • positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017
  • One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019
  • This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018
  • Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019
  • positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019

    positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018
  • positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

Google Reviews

  • Traveled in from Atlanta, GA with a buddy of mine who came from Delaware and the drive was well worth the trip! Aqil Qadir and Tiffany Johnson of CSA are both WORLD CLASS INSTRUCTORS! Their commitment to safety and ability to put the class at ease is unparalleled and with almost 50 years of combined experience between them, it was obvious from the very beginning that they were both seasoned subject matter experts.I would not hesitate to send my loved ones to them for training and I will definitely be back. I highly recommend them to anyone seeking firearms... Show More

    Samuel Hayes Avatar
    Samuel Hayes
    9/10/2019

    Love the experience! Ryan was my instructor when I took the class and he was experienced and funny! He made the dreadful 8 hour class fly by with his enthusiastic jokes and made sure everyone participated! The class was very much worth the money! If you ever wanted to be more informed on firearms I HIGHLY recommend this course! I will soon be taking other classes in the future! Well done CSA!

    John Phan Avatar
    John Phan
    7/10/2019
  • These guys are the real deal for firearms training. You won't get a more professional education with anyone else. I am humbled by the experience. Train with them and see for yourself!

    Justin McNeill Avatar
    Justin McNeill
    8/14/2019

    The TN enhanced handgun permit class was very informative, easy to comprehend, and overall a delightful experience. From the time you enter the building of CSA to the time you get ready to leave the atmosphere is safe and welcoming.

    The instructor was beyond knowledgeable and committed to safety and the course materials. From the class demonstrations to the reassurance on the range, Aqil Q. made sure you knew what you were doing.

    I highly recommend CSA for anyone, from beginners to experts. They encourage their students to keep learning and they offer so much to aid in your journey....
    Show More

    Emoni Lewis Avatar
    Emoni Lewis
    6/18/2020
  • Just want to give a shout out to Aqil....every time I train or practice it is his teachings and snippets of advice that I’m repeating in my head the whole time and I’m truly appreciative!Thank you, sir!

    crissy rogers Avatar
    crissy rogers
    5/14/2019

    Love the experience! Ryan was my instructor when I took the class and he was experienced and funny! He made the dreadful 8 hour class fly by with his enthusiastic jokes and made sure everyone participated! The class was very much worth the money! If you ever wanted to be more informed on firearms I HIGHLY recommend this course! I will soon be taking other classes in the future! Well done CSA!

    John Phan Avatar
    John Phan
    7/14/2019
  • I was curious to see how they approached training for Concealed Carry. The classroom topics covered the basics of what you need and more - but believe me if you are looking into another class in the area that will get you your CC permit and that class is a shorter class (less than all-day) - YOU WILL BE SHORTING ONLY YOURSELF and your loved ones. Great instructors and content including legal aspects of protecting yourself and others with firearms. Looking forward to further and more advanced classes with this group!

    martin kostuik Avatar
    martin kostuik
    5/26/2020

    Aqil and team (Tiffany, Ryan and Tiffy) are awesome. They emphasize safety at all times. They teach with enthusiasm and purpose. Their skills, knowledge and attitude are contagious - but in a good way.

    Matthew Currier Avatar
    Matthew Currier
    7/30/2020
  • This class is most definitely the BEST around and not to mention worth every penny. All of the instructors are VERY knowledgeable and thorough. They take their time to make SAFETY AWARENESS the #1 priority. Although we did learn to shoot a weapon this class is much MORE. Its about taking responsibility for EVERY BULLET that is fired from your weapon. Be ready to learn from the Best in the Business when you sign up with this crew!

    Melissa Thomas-Brown Avatar
    Melissa Thomas-Brown
    3/14/2019

    Top notch instruction and real life lessons. Aqil's practical common sense approach to everyday situations is invaluable information that you can't put a price tag on.

    A Alkebulan Avatar
    A Alkebulan
    9/14/2018
  • Excellent instructors former police trainers, very patient and knowledgeable of best practices.

    Tarik Pratt Avatar
    Tarik Pratt
    9/14/2018

    CSA provides a great environment to learn. Safe, friendly, and incredibly thorough and knowledgeable, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

    Gilbert Goodman Avatar
    Gilbert Goodman
    10/14/2018
  • The class was very good! Both instructors made me feel comfortable- never once felt intimidated or had fear! As a student my voice was heard! If I felt nervous or had a question at any time- the instructors immediately stopped and changed all that! I would definitely take classes with citizens safety academy and would highly recommend it!

    Stephenie Przybyla Avatar
    Stephenie Przybyla
    8/31/2019

    One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/24/2019
  • I had the opportunity to experience an awesome training by Aqil Kadir last month (Refuse to Become A Victim). The training was specifically given to a large group of senior citizens. It was extremely educational, very well presented and left me and all others with invaluable tips! This was my first such training and I definitely would sign up for any future trainings given by Aqil Kadir's Citizens Safety Academy. Awesome!

    Andrea Johnson Avatar
    Andrea Johnson
    9/14/2018

    The class I attended is hands down, one of the best and most informative classes I have attended, and I have attended many over the years. I walked away with lots of tools for the toolbox. Aqil and Tiffany are very experienced Instructors, and it shows. I drove four hours to attend, and will continue attending classes when I can. Thanks guys and keep up the great Instruction. If your serious about training, look no further, they are the real deal!!!

    Patrick Robilio Avatar
    Patrick Robilio
    4/14/2019
  • All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I learned a lot from taking the class. I would recommend this organization for all your safety training.

    George Menzies Avatar
    George Menzies
    5/14/2019

    I've known Tiffany for over six years, and Aqil for four, and always thought very highly of them. I'd attended short classes and lectures from them at the Rangemaster Tactical Conference, and A Girl and A Gun conference, and was very impressed with their teaching. However, I recently had a chance to take their 3-day NRA CCW Instructor Course, and WOW! I've had 700+ hours of instruction, and that counts among the absolute BEST course content, delivery, and organization I have ever experienced. I strongly believe you can not get better quality instruction... Show More

    Tim Reedy -TDR Training Avatar
    Tim Reedy -TDR Training
    4/23/2020
  • I traveled 3 hours for this class, I was very nervous and anxious. I expected to pull into a very large facility. Instead it is a very quaint store front in a nice neighborhood. I was greeted at the door with a welcoming smile and directed to come in. It was a very small class of about 7 including myself. I immediately felt less nervous and anxious. Citizens Safety Academy was very accommodating and clean. The class was excellent with a vast amount of information that was given in a manner that was easy... Show More

    Michelle Tackett Avatar
    Michelle Tackett
    9/07/2020

    Thank you Citizens Safety Academy and our instructor, Aqil for customizing a class around family's difficult schedule. Thank you your years of public service and the thorough instruction you gave to us in the Enhanced Permit Class. What an awesome experience. I feel certain we will be returning for more training with you. Blessings.

    Trayc Hostetter Avatar
    Trayc Hostetter
    3/17/2020