Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017
  • positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019

    positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019
  • positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018
  • Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017

    positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019
  • Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018
  • positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017
  • One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017

    If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018
  • positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018

Google Reviews

  • Fantastic course! Excellent instructors giving excellent instruction. Why haven’t you taken a class from this dynamic duo yet? I can’t think of a single reason. Go enroll in one of their courses today! You’ll thoroughly enjoy it.

    Todd Laessig Avatar
    Todd Laessig
    1/21/2020

    This is a great class. I had a very educational and safe learning experience. The class was so engaging. Aqui is an excellent instructor. I recommend this class to anyone who wants to obtain their carrying permits.

    Tamika Currie Avatar
    Tamika Currie
    9/05/2020
  • One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/19/2019

    Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/17/2019
  • Had a really great time! Very knowledgeable team and my daughter and I had a great time with all of you on Father's Day.

    randy adams Avatar
    randy adams
    7/14/2019

    The women’s on target clinic at CSA was a fun and great experience! Tiff and Aqil are excellent, knowledgeable and very efficient instructors!Overcoming a traumatic experience with guns in the past, I have been very hesitant with handling a gun. The woman’s on target clinic was not only a comfortable, friendly, structured environment the all the instructors have an excellent knowledge base, professional, skillful, and supportive. They really care about the students success and learning. I felt safe and developed a sense of skill that helped me overcome some of my anxiety, gain confidence and to feel empowered about my... Show More

    Rosita Qadir Avatar
    Rosita Qadir
    3/14/2019
  • Excellent instructors former police trainers, very patient and knowledgeable of best practices.

    Tarik Pratt Avatar
    Tarik Pratt
    9/14/2018

    Top notch instruction and real life lessons. Aqil's practical common sense approach to everyday situations is invaluable information that you can't put a price tag on.

    A Alkebulan Avatar
    A Alkebulan
    9/14/2018
  • I had a very fun and productive day in both class and range. This class is very informational and Mr. Aqil is both an excellent instructor who is both patient and educated! Citizens Safety Academy provides an accommodating environment, welcoming people both near and far and both experienced or inexperienced in handguns to come in and learn. I encourage you to stop in for a class or two. I challenge you to challenge yourselves! Once you’ve learned all that you can and mastered it, get ready for a new challenge! Special thanks to the staff and family for their help... Show More

    Nicole Dubose Avatar
    Nicole Dubose
    10/19/2019

    Have you thought about signing up for your hand gun carrying permit class? But you never seem to follow through? Hey that was me. I had this idea on my bucket list for years. Until I met Dayna at my school. She told our cohort all about Citizens Safety Academy. Citizen Safety Academy offers handgun carry permit classes on Sunday. I really liked that idea. Sign up was easy. I registered for the class in just a few minutes. I attended my class on last Sunday. My instructors name was Ryan and his two assistants were... Show More

    Estrella Miller Avatar
    Estrella Miller
    8/14/2019
  • Blown away by their professionalism, attention to detail and their ability to adapt to any trainees skill level. The standard for excellence is set here. Even if your a combat vet like myself you will still learn something valuable to you and the defense of your family. You may enter a stranger but your leaving as family.

    Kazzerus AMP Avatar
    Kazzerus AMP
    9/15/2019

    Aqil's training techniques are not just about physical safety. For women it is so important to feel a mental sense of empowerment, whether you carry a weapon or not. His mindset approach is great for women who just want to bolster their confidence. Becoming a great shooter is icing on the cake!

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    9/14/2018
  • Retired military. I half expected this to be a "rubber stamp" operation, but reviews were good so I took a chance. I was impressed. Very knowledgeable instructor. Academics were well-presented. Good selection of follow-on classes for professional development. I will definitely be back!

    David Creech Avatar
    David Creech
    1/08/2020

    All the reviews are true. Wonderful and knowledgeable staff. I took the NRA instructor course-pistol. Definitely worth my time and money.

    Matthew Dyer Avatar
    Matthew Dyer
    8/14/2019
  • I just experienced​ 3 days​ of instructions from Mr. Qadir and Ms. Johnson, and I couldn't say anything bad about the training even if I lied. I recommend them for anybody on any level. Great training, great and helpful instructions, these guys really know their stuff. I carry for a living and their basic pistol course was very enlightening for me. I had a GREAT weekend experience.

    Ali Muhammad Avatar
    Ali Muhammad
    9/14/2018

    One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/24/2019
  • Great class!! I’m a beginner with guns and I def feel a lot more comfortable with guns. Great instructors and great atmosphere!!

    Essence Avatar
    Essence
    7/14/2019

    This was the best money spent in a long time. I absolutely loved my class, learned so much, and got top notch training. My instructors were so qualified, professional and yet very approachable. I felt very comfortable asking questions and I came out of my handgun permit class a smarter and more confident person. I look forward to going back for more classes and I hope to bring my friends with me! Thanks to you all at Citizens Safety Academy of Murfreesboro!

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    4/14/2019
  • The class was great like that we more than one teachers so any questions had some cloud answers it right there

    Clifford Freeman Avatar
    Clifford Freeman
    4/14/2019

    Aqil was our instructor. He was very informative and nonjudgmental. I would definitely recommend The basic safety course to everyone. We will be back for more learning!

    Tahirah Deen Avatar
    Tahirah Deen
    2/14/2019