Student Reviews

Word on the Street

Below is a sampling of some of the feedback our students have offered after training with CSA. We hope it gives you a better idea of what to expect when you take our classes. Maybe soon we can add your positive review to the list! To read more reviews or to add your own, please see our Google listing or visit our Facebook page.

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review Took my TN Handgun Carry permit class today. What a great class and the instructors are top notch. They took time to answer any questions we had in the class and on the range. I will be taking more classes with CSA! So happy I picked CSA to take my class.

    Wade Jones-Ray Avatar
    Wade Jones-Ray
    3/11/2019

    This is the class to take! Aqil makes you feel so comfortable and safe. He's amazing. His years of experience make him a great instructor. Looking forward to taking more classes from him.

    Karen Stutzman Quant Avatar
    Karen Stutzman Quant
    4/14/2018

    positive review Each lesson empowers me to continue to master myself in all areas, not just safety.

    Dayna Jaye Avatar
    Dayna Jaye
    8/29/2018
  • positive review My experience at CSA was outstanding. It was the best money spent on myself in a long time. I received top notch training from professionals and personal attention on things that needed correcting. The staff was very professional and yet approachable. By the time I left class, I learned the information I came for and gained confidence in my skill, even if I did have trifocals, and felt as if I... Read More

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    3/24/2019

    Just went through the handgun safety course yesterday, far more comprehensive and professional than I might have expected. I highly recommend Aquil and staff for all the thorough information imparted during the class as well as at the range. Great job gentlemen. Folks this is the place to go
    To have all your fears removed.

    Donald Tanner Avatar
    Donald Tanner
    6/17/2018

    Very knowledgeable and professional instructor! Highly recommended!

    Joe Porter
    Certified NRA Instructor & NRA Training Counselor ( Instructor's Instructor)

    Joe Porter Avatar
    Joe Porter
    3/28/2017
  • positive review The staff is well versed in personal security and convey that knowledge to the students efficiently. They use the combination of books, training aids, and PDF presentations for their classes. Aqil Qadir, Tiffany Johnson, and Ryan McCann are very enthusiastic instructors. I like them both professionally and personally.

    Greg Knox Avatar
    Greg Knox
    9/09/2019

    positive review I had a good time and learned alot, all of the instructors were great, go there! you won't be dissatisfied

    Clint Page Avatar
    Clint Page
    10/28/2018

    Aqueel is the best! Great instructor and all around great guy! I was able to pass my Requalification test for my employer to land a awesome job! I recommend him to anyone especially the ladies if your not good with shooting.

    Krystal Montgomery Avatar
    Krystal Montgomery
    1/15/2018
  • I worked and trained with Aqil. He is an awesome guy and Amazing trainer. People that take his class are well informed and well trained. Best of luck in the future!!

    Paula West Maynard Avatar
    Paula West Maynard
    1/29/2018

    If you really want to learn carry a gun and defend yourself go to Citizens safety Academe aqil Qader h's a more than wonderful teacher and everyone who works with him really learned a lot This guy does not let you go before you understand everything honestly...
    With thanks and appreciation.

    Hana Thayab Avatar
    Hana Thayab
    3/05/2018

    positive review great instructors, training, culture and just all around good people to work with!

    Dre Drennon Avatar
    Dre Drennon
    10/03/2018
  • positive review Fantastic instructors, hilarious, with the know-how to back it up. Both are Rangemaster grads, and still pitch in with Tom Givens’ events. Go find a class. You won’t regret it!

    Memphis Beech Avatar
    Memphis Beech
    8/16/2019

    Instructor is very knowledgeable and made the class enjoyable. I plan on attending more of his classes.

    Nikki Hills Avatar
    Nikki Hills
    5/17/2017

    positive review This is an extremely interesting and well run course. The teaching techniques are outstanding, I have been an NRA Certified Training Counselor for more than 40 years and found this course valuable in improving my techniques and learning newer ways of helping students to learn. Well worth the investment.

    Budd Schroeder Avatar
    Budd Schroeder
    8/27/2019
  • positive review I cannot say enough for the team of fantastic instructors at Citizens Safety Academy. The level of comfort and encouragement that these men provided was exceptional. As a first time attendee and complete novice to gun safety, my fears have been eased and brain filled with knowledge and experience. I look forward to learning more for this great group of instructors and people. Thank you, Ryan, Jam, and Aqil.

    Ferrol Thomas Avatar
    Ferrol Thomas
    3/11/2019

    If you are looking to learn to enhance the safety of yourself and your loved ones, CSA is THE place to go! Not only did Aqil teach me the skills I needed to save my job, he taught me a skill set that could potentially save a life. Is there a better set of skills to have? Go see him!

    Crissy Rogers Avatar
    Crissy Rogers
    1/25/2018

    One of the most highly educated firearms instructors in the country, with a gift for teaching!!

    Richard Smith Avatar
    Richard Smith
    3/28/2017
  • positive review My REVIEW is a BLOG I just wrote = 5 STARS!!! https://thecompletecombatant.wordpress.com/2018/10/18/in-a-nut-shell-refer-attend-tiffany-johnsons-nra-women-on-target-clinic/

    Shelley Luehder Hill Avatar
    Shelley Luehder Hill
    10/18/2018

    I am someone that has been afraid of guns and gun culture for a while. I knew that if I was going to find a place to learn I wanted it to be a safe and supportive environment led by people that know their stuff and can meet students where they're at. I am so happy I decided to do my carry permit class at Citizens and I will definitely be back for more advanced... Read More

    Maria Bascetta Avatar
    Maria Bascetta
    6/24/2018

    Definitely worth your time regardless of being a newbie or someone who is familiar with firearms. Go see Aqil, Marv, and Tiff at CSA. They are all attentive and informative. You won’t regret it. I am a CCW permit holder from CO and needed the TN handgun safety course to apply for my CCW here in TN. Some of the textbook info was a refresher, but I also obtained some very constructive feedback that helped... Read More

    Jason Winsett Avatar
    Jason Winsett
    3/06/2018
  • positive review If you're looking for a fun and knowledgeable class to get your gun permit, this is the one to pick! My dad and I learned a lot and had a fun time while doing it. The 8 hours went by quick.

    Heather Adams Avatar
    Heather Adams
    6/19/2019

    positive review Simply put, the staff at CSA are absolutely superb. Friendly, professional, and knowledgeable, they have the kind of high standards that will make you into a better (and safer) shooter. Whether you've never touched gun in your life, or you're trying to find room for your 2nd gun safe, the Citizens Safety Academy is the place for you. Many thanks to Tiffany, Aqil, Ryan, and Jam for the excellent service and professional instruction.

    John Charles Sartain Avatar
    John Charles Sartain
    4/01/2019

    This was the best time spent on handgun safety to earn a permit to carry! I plan on using the services much more in the future. The instructor earned my trust immediately. I have no reason to look any further for firearm training or advice.

    Elicia Powell Avatar
    Elicia Powell
    4/30/2017

Google Reviews

  • I took the NRA pistol instructor course with them and it was an absolute blast! They take the class, and raise it to a whole new level!

    J B Avatar
    J B
    8/30/2020

    I highly recommend CSA for the professionalism, open conversation, and overall quality of the class and instructors. Ryan, Marv, and Jam were very supportive and informative! Thanks to all!!

    Todd Davis Avatar
    Todd Davis
    11/14/2018
  • Aqil was our instructor. He was very informative and nonjudgmental. I would definitely recommend The basic safety course to everyone. We will be back for more learning!

    Tahirah Deen Avatar
    Tahirah Deen
    2/14/2019

    Me and my wife really enjoyed the class. I came in with the notion that I would learn my way around a gun and some basic knowledge of laws and carry procedures but what we got was much more! I would recommend this class to everyone in middle Tennessee!!!

    robert pearson Avatar
    robert pearson
    8/23/2020
  • Very patient and informative, taking the time to explain a question when asked. He made sure that you understood the law relating to gun safety and what was expected. I was very impressed by his knowledge and the instruction that he provided. If I ever felt like I needed a refresher course I would attend again. All i can say is thank you.

    Alisa Smith Avatar
    Alisa Smith
    9/14/2018

    Recently took the Enhanced Gun Permit class and it’s was so much fun. The staff really makes the class interesting and are culturally competent, which makes the class relatable for anyone. After taking the course and learning how to shoot at the gun range, I am so much more comfortable and confident about gun laws, gun safety, and how to properly work a gun.

    Jamesha Whitsey Avatar
    Jamesha Whitsey
    6/09/2020
  • I've taken an obscene amount of classes and courses, these guys are, hands down, the most efficient and humble team I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I'll be taking more classes with them in the future.

    Ryan McCann Avatar
    Ryan McCann
    9/14/2018

    Thank you Citizens Safety Academy and our instructor, Aqil for customizing a class around family's difficult schedule. Thank you your years of public service and the thorough instruction you gave to us in the Enhanced Permit Class. What an awesome experience. I feel certain we will be returning for more training with you. Blessings.

    Trayc Hostetter Avatar
    Trayc Hostetter
    3/17/2020
  • This was the best money spent in a long time. I absolutely loved my class, learned so much, and got top notch training. My instructors were so qualified, professional and yet very approachable. I felt very comfortable asking questions and I came out of my handgun permit class a smarter and more confident person. I look forward to going back for more classes and I hope to bring my friends with me! Thanks to you all at Citizens Safety Academy of Murfreesboro!

    Angela Lamb Avatar
    Angela Lamb
    4/14/2019

    My wife and I just took the basic pistol and NRA basic pistol instructor course at CSA. I am prior Military and Law Enforcement, and Aqil, Tiffany and their staff, were the best instructors I have ever had hands down no contest. They were very professional, polite, extremely knowledgeable and safety was top priority. They kept everything simple and fun, and covered an enormous amount of information in the time we were there, in other words you definitely get your moneys worth. Regardless of whether you are advanced or have never touched a firearm, they... Show More

    Robert Lowe Avatar
    Robert Lowe
    11/14/2018
  • I took a Women’s only handgun safety class with my two girl friends this past week and I have to say I really enjoyed it! Before this, I wasn’t comfortable being around a gun and now I am. Tiffany was our instructor and not only the class was informative, but it was fun and laid back. I left out of there with confidence in knowing how to handle a gun. I would totally recommend this class and any other classes they have for anyone.

    Nora Vongphakdy Avatar
    Nora Vongphakdy
    11/07/2019

    My buddy and I just took the Handgun Carry Permit Course with Tiffany & Aqil - couldn’t have gone any better. Aqil & Tiffany (Esquire) were great instructors. Aqil was extremely knowledgable and was the lead, while Tiffany was able to add legal advice through out the day. Great people, small class size, would recommend to anyone, regardless of skill level.

    Austin Crowe Avatar
    Austin Crowe
    9/14/2018
  • Only company I have ever seen with all 5 star reviews and they are very deserving of it. I first took the Guns 101 course with my girlfriend and it was very informative for us because we knew nothing about guns. A few days later I take the handgun carry permit class and it was also very informative and helpful. Aqil and Marvin are very patient and helped me a lot on the range. It was scary at first but it became fun after I got used to the noise. 11/10 would recommend to anyone interested in guns/gun safety. I... Show More

    Eric Golston II Avatar
    Eric Golston II
    6/14/2019

    Very knowledgeable staff! Aqil knows his stuff and can teach it to anyone. I will recommend taking his courses to all family members. You cannot go wrong under his instructions!

    James Brice Avatar
    James Brice
    9/14/2018
  • My wife and I took a class here and loved every minute of it! Ryan was an incredible teacher in class; Aqil, Tiffany, and Jam were incredible instructors on the range. They never made anybody feel stupid and were great working with beginners. Will definitely be back to continue our training. Thanks Citizens Safety!

    Colton Pehrson Avatar
    Colton Pehrson
    7/14/2019

    Tiffany and Aqil bring unsurpassed professionalism and years' of experience teaching hundreds of students to the classroom. They possess a depth and breadth of knowledge seldom encountered in a field too often occupied by mediocrities and wannabes. The lectures are delivered in a conversational manner that encourages student participation and keeps the material interesting. Their reassuring demeanor on the range makes even the most apprehensive new shooter feel comfortable and welcome. Highly recommended.

    J Grant Avatar
    J Grant
    2/04/2020
  • CSA firearms training is top notch. The staff is as professional as they come. During the live fire exercises, safety is always at the forefront during every moment. I highly recommend CSA to anyone starting their handgun training journey or to anyone wanting to further their advanced training.

    Ted Gamble Avatar
    Ted Gamble
    10/14/2018

    One of the best lecture classes I’ve attended in a while! Well constructed and executed. Highly recommended and will definitely attend more classes with Citizens Safety Academy!

    Alan Legge Avatar
    Alan Legge
    8/24/2019
  • Spent three days, the class was great and instructors were top notch. I would recommend these guys to any one. I have other instructor certificates. I added several things to my toolbox from these guys.

    Jamie Woods Avatar
    Jamie Woods
    7/29/2020

    This is an excellent class for a beginner or someone that needs more knowledge and confidence in handling a weapon safely. The fact that it is an all women's class made me feel more at ease than I would have in a co-ed class. The class was a lot of fun. Our instructor, Tiffany has a great personality and kept the class engaged. She really knows her subject and emphasizes safety. I highly recommend this class. It was worth every penny. I learned in this class that the pistol I'd purchased for myself, I didn't really like after handling... Show More

    Barry Turner Avatar
    Barry Turner
    8/18/2020